Man Down…

by Kir

10 signs I need to stop talking about getting back into yoga & actually get back into yoga!

Over the past five years, my yoga practice has been waning. I love yoga and truly believe the benefits it has on mind and body are incredible. About 10 years ago, my health and stress levels had reached near debilitating levels. As a girl in my mid-twenties, I was in a waiting room with a bunch of men in their 60s trying to figure out my lack of health. Luckily for me, a kind, progressive gastroenterologist took a good look at me and said, “I can put you on drugs or you can try yoga. I recommend yoga.” It took 6 months of daily practice, but it worked. Completely. As in no more health issues – at all. And for the next 8 years it was an integral part of my life. I got my teaching certification and worked with other people who were dealing with a multitude of issues and fell in love with my new ability to cope with stress. Yoga works for me. My body loves it, responds to it and thrives with it in my life.

So knowing this, how is it possible that I can count on one hand the number of times I’ve done yoga in the last 6 months? Yes, I’ve upped my running game and definitely found a release and solace in the solitude of running. There is a similar meditation in motion that I get from yoga. And I know many will say that yoga isn’t about taking classes. And I do agree with this whole-heartedly. But if someone had told me 5 years ago that I would be trading in the regular flow of vinyasas for half marathons, I’d have said they were crazy.

My weariness stemmed from the hustle and bustle and business of yoga. There are incredible teachers out there, beautiful studios and lots of variety to choose from depending on mood and energy level. But there’s a lot of ego, posturing and performance out there too. And after a while, I just needed a break. However, after today, I’ve decided the hiatus is over and it’s time to dig back in. Here are the top 10, beat me over the head with a stick already, reasons it’s time to re-activate my practice. It’s time & I’ll see you on the mat ~ or not, if I’m a good yogi, my eyes will be closed 😉

Man down, time to limp back to the mat…

 

