Good Books Lately…

by Kir

I was raised in a family of recreational, avid readers! Well, at least 3 out of 4 of us anyway. My twin brother J, not so much. Growing up he tried, but his heart wasn’t quite it in like my parents and I. But even still, we’d all be sprawl in various parts of the family room after work, school and on weekends reading something or other. I still love going home to visit and pulling books off the shelf from “the library”. And my weekly catch up calls with my P’s usually brush up against the, “what are you reading right now” topic.

My Dad is all about WWII, cold wars and espionage. My Mom reads a lot of different things, but we both lean toward historical fiction. Not the bodice-ripping, cheesy Fabio fiction…more like meticulously researched period pieces, often taking place in Europe during various stages dating from the 1200s-1800s. Throw in some flashbacks between past and present and you’ll have a reader in me for life! My brother sticks mainly to the occasional best seller and pours over travel journals and magazines.

In reality, I’m pretty much a literary hussy, meaning, I’ll read just about anything fiction. Once I pick a book up, I have to finish it. No matter what happens, I cannot turn away from a book once I’ve gotten past page 10 or so. Sometimes this gets really painful. Case in point: the Shades of Grey trilogy. Halfway through book 3 (actually 2, who are we kidding), I wanted to gnaw my arm off.  After days of eye rolling, sighing, irritated page turning and “enough already, we get it!”s, an exasperated M threatened to take the books from me if I didn’t stop complaining. So I power read and skimmed  most of book three and finished relieved and vowing never again to pick up a trilogy so lightly!

Noooo! I can’t take anymore. You should’ve stopped at one…

I was thinking about some of my all-time favorite books and thought that might be a cool thing to share. So here is a desert island book list! I have lots of favorites, but let’s start with these. If you read them, let me know what you think…♥

The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver. I could read this again and again. Takes place in the Belgian Congo in 1959. Each chapter alternates between the wife and four daughters of an evangelical minister. It’s beautifully written and you’ll get absorbed and attached to each of their stories.

 

Threads by Nell Gavin. This is the story of Anne Boelyn and Henry VIII and their relationship at a soul level. The book opens from Anne’s viewpoint just after she’s been executed. It goes into reincarnation, history, love and forgiveness. It’s one of my all-time favorites and gives you a lot to think about. If you like that sort of thing 😉

Shadow of the Wind by Carlo Ruiz Zafon. This mystery takes place in 1945 in Barcelona just after the Spanish Civil War. It’s a unique story with lots of mystery and intrigue. It’s written incredibly well! And it’s follow up, The Angel’s Game is also amazing. I had to admit I knew nothing about the time so I got a good history lesson to boot. Side bonus: gender neutral so your honey can read it after you!

Last Letter From Your Lover by Jojo Moyes. Want a good beach read? Need a good book for the plane? This is your book. You get into it immediately and bam, you’re landing at your final destination.

The Constant Gardener by John le Carre. Slow, meandering, elegant and wonderful. Also takes place in Africa. It’s the story of ordinary people getting caught up in political conflict and competing interests. Don’t give up on it! It can take a bit of patience to get into, but it’s really worth it.

The Constant Gardener by John le Carre

The Rose Garden by Susannah Kearsley. This is a gothic novel that switches back and forth between modern day and the 18th Century Cornish coast. It’s pure escapism. I finished this book, looked up others by Kearsley and have read pretty much all of them now. Again, for beach or travel, you can’t beat this author!

I love having book recommendations and am always on the hunt for something to sink my teeth into. So if you have any good ones, don’t be stingy! Please comment on this blog or message me on Facebook with your favorites! ♥♥♥

