Where Do We Go From Here?

by Kir

I had a post ready to go about how I fell off the exercise wagon and ate too many Gingerbread cookies, blah blah blah.

And then the news feeds lit up with stories of 27 people dead, 18 of whom were between 5 and 10. Senseless, speechless, sad, angry, bewildered and angry again. I looked at the pictures of parents walking with their children in the school parking lot and all I can think of are those poor parents who don’t have that opportunity anymore.

Where in the world do you go from here?

How many people have to be executed before our “right to bare arms” gets some checks? In theory, sure, great, have your gun, do you thing. But clearly our society cannot handle it. Is there anyone out there who thinks our gun control laws are adequate? Does anyone believe we have a good system in place for who is purchasing guns and ammunition? Give me your best pitch! I promise I will listen attentively to what you have to say…

And to the families and community in Newton, CT, my hopes and prayers and deepest sympathies will join millions of others’ hopes and prayers and deepest sympathies. I’m so very sorry.

Where do we go from here?
