And Just Like That…

by Kir

Isn’t it amazing how your mood can switch completely with the smallest thing happening?

Rewind to last night. I came home from work feeling worried, stressy and a bit a cranky. Not you, you say! I know, I know, but I’ve been a bit uncertain about what the future will bring. And what I want to architect my life to look like in 2013. The usual stuff…

Stop Thinking So Much...

Stop Thinking So Much…

Anyway, M dragged me to Smart & Final to get veggies for stir-fry – we get wild and crazy on Monday nights. I was still a bit snippy so M encouraged (ordered) me to grab a bottle of wine to have with dinner (subtle). So I did, and on to the checkout we went.

The cashier was this young, pretty girl and, bless her, she carded me for the wine. I grabbed my ID thinking they must card anyone who looks under 40. Her eyebrows shot up and she said, “Wow, you look amazing for your age”! Now, factoring in tone, this could have either sent me over the edge for good or made me blush with the compliment. Her tone suggested the latter so that’s what I did – blushed. I asked M if he put her up to it, but no. It was a genuine, unsolicited compliment. And, just like that, my mood turned on a dime and I felt very happy.

Love This! Source

Love This! Source

I can’t prove it, but I’m guessing M probably hugged the girl and slipped her a $20 on the way out for salvaging the night. Isn’t it funny how a simple compliment can make someone’s day? I vowed to pay it forward even more than usual. I’m a firm believer that if you are sincere, you can never over-compliment.

Everyone deserves to hear sincere praise or flattery at least once a day! To have someone be thoughtful even in the smallest little way can completely shift someone’s entire day. Can you imagine if everyone went around saying nice things to each other? Oh the Grinch’s heart would just be exploding!!!

It Looked A Little Like This...

Just Like This…

So to you, lovely, thoughtful, wonderful cashier at Smart & Final, thank you for making my day!♥

