6 Sets for 6 Days

by Kir

Ready, set, go…ever get some unexpectedly great news and then realize you have to ship shape into gear and pronto? Let me explain. I used to do some sports and lifestyle modeling for some extra walking around money. It was great and silly and fun, but living in San Diego and getting involved in other things, I wound it down and moved on to other things.

Flashback: Photo of me by Ty Milford, most talented and nicest photographer!!!

Flashback: Photo by Ty Milford, most talented & nicest photographer!!!

But I just found out I was requested for a job next Thursday and the pay is nothing to sneeze at. Hooray, how fun, I’m flattered and, yes, of course I’ll do it! Luckily, I’m training for my half marathon and somewhat recently back from Mexico so a little detoxing, clean eating and daily exercise ought to do the trick. If not, there’s always flattering light and photoshop. In essence, I have 6 days to be my sparkling best.

Anyone want to do a 6 -day challenge with me? C’mon, you know you wanna!

Here’s the 6 sets of the following for 6 days plan:

  • 25 squats
  • 100 sit-ups
  • 25 push-ups (knees okay)
  • 50 side stretches
  • 2 minute plank
  • 25 squats again (feel free to sub in lunges, but I LOATHE them and know I won’t do them so I’m being realistic)

In addition, I will be doing the following…

Saturday: 10 mi run, Sunday: 5 mi run, Monday: Yoga sculpt class, Tuesday: Rest, but still doing the 6 sets, Wednesday: Run 4 mi, Thursday: Run 4 mi

As for the diet, no need to be extreme, but my weakness is carbs – M is in the beer business for heaven’s sakes! So no <gulp> beer. Sub in the water, lots of it – hand me that 2 liter please. And get ready Nutribullet, because I will be using you daily for glowing skin and filling up on protein and nutrients.

Juice & Water Please

Juice & Water Please! (Sorry no fancy photo)

My go-to juice concoction is simple and hugely beneficial: handful of frozen raspberry/blueberry mix, handful of kale, 10 walnuts, 1/4 tsp macha powder, 1/4 tsp turmeric, 1 tsp of soaked chia seeds, 1/2 frozen banana. Add 1/3 cup coconut water and purified water as needed. I like a thinner consistency, but if you like it thicker, add 1 tbsp of greek yogurt. It tastes yummy and it’s very filling. Shiny skin and hair here we come!!!

And don’t panic, I know I said no beer, but it’s me and I know myself. I’ll still have a glass of wine here and there, but do I really need 1 or 2 every night – um, YES probably not. The key to succeed on this 6 day beauty project is planning ahead. I’ll be grilling up some chicken breasts so I can easily chop them into a salad for work lunches and making sure to have healthy snacks available at all times so I don’t make bad choices. Trader Joe trail mix snack packs and flavored sparkling water as well as carrots and apples with Nathan’s single serving almond butters will do wonders!

Need some extra motivation? Head over to my favorite motivational tumblr site: Reasons to be Fit

Reason 774: One of My Favorites!

Reason #774: One of My Favorites!

Or to our favorite marathon running, dog walking, and now barre extraordinaire, Skinny Runner. Feel like whining b/c you’re too tired to workout? Sarah’s logged 10 miles, then hit a barre class before most of us finish our coffee. So if shame is your motivator, head on over…Don’t worry, she’ll make you laugh while you’re there too!

Sarah, aka, Skinny Runner - she cleans up pretty too!

Sarah, aka, Skinny Runner – she cleans up real pretty too!

Now you know what I’ll be doing this week. And Super Bowl Sunday? No problem, I’ll be the dork with my own baggie of carrots in the corner cheering for the 49ers. Go ahead and laugh, I’m on a mission and will have my share of fries next Friday!

Okay, queue the Rocky music and let’s do this!!!♥

