A Day Filled With Love – Like It Or Not!

by Kir

Not to state the obvious, but today is Valentine’s Day. And in case you missed the flower promotions, the Russel Stover chocolate ads and sea of pink and red plastered on storefront windows everywhere, this little post is yet another reminder. I think it’s safe to say there are two definitive camps when it comes to Valentine’s Day – the true, hopeful romantics and the cynical, anti-greeting card, manufactured holiday set. In the middle, there are a bunch of “undecided” folk who either go with the flow or are completely indifferent and choose to wait it out and re-emerge on the 15th as if nothing happened.

Charlie, Puts His Heart Out There...

The Ultimate, Optimistic Romantic – Charlie

The Cynical Camp

The Cynical Set

I think on a scale of 1-10, I would be an 8 leaning toward the romantics camp – shocking I know. But not the gifty part – I don’t believe it’s about jewelry, chocolates and flowers (although if I had to pick one, who doesn’t love flowers). We live in a beautiful, but often harsh world. Turn on the news and it’s full of shoot-outs, kids being bullied at school, world wars and oppression of all varieties. So why not have a day devoted completely to love? What’s the problem with a day where we give Valentine’s, extra hugs and are more conscious about being nicer to one another? So I’m all in. And if we get a little mushy and sentimental, so be it.

Be warned…I will be sending my dorky emoticon hearts & kisses and telling you all to have a wonderful day. I’ll post some feel good quotes that make me feel squishy/happy/optimistic (warning don’t scroll down if you don’t want to read them!) and I’ll nicely demand a beach sunset walk and some extra cuddling/attention from M after work today – no gift required, just quality time.

I hope you have a day filled with love – single, dating, engaged, married – whatever your status!

We can pick up our cynicism and sarcasm tomorrow – or not! ♥

YouMe

We’re All In This Together…

photo-3

There Simply Can’t Be Too Much Love In the World!

VdayQuote

From The Fault In Our Stars, a Beautiful Book About Love

Screen Shot 2013-02-14 at 8.19.00 AM

Me and M – My Favorite Valentine!

