Running to Arizona!

by Kir

It’s t-minus 2 days until my Arizona half marathon. Which means, time to get my race day playlist finalized and downloaded to the ‘ole ipod. I know that “technically” you’re not supposed to run with music on a race course, but I’m pretty sure that’s for the contenders.  For us middle of the packers just trying to eek out the run without collapsing, crying or walking in the last 3 miles, I think they make exceptions.

Remember those posters about "what I think I look like when I run"?

Remember those posters about “what I think I look like when I run”?

What I probably really look like

Verses what most of us probably really look like…

In this month’s Competitor magazine, there is an article on Sage Advice on Running Any Races. Definitely worth checking out for newer runners, but I couldn’t find a digital version of the article. It’s in the Feb issue on pg 34. Anyhoo, I agree with almost all of it except for the section telling me to Ditch the Music. The argument being you’ll miss out on the thrill of people cheering you on, which could lead to an inferior race experience.  (this was from Mary Wittenberg, CEO of the NY Marathon) That’s great if you’re running a race where a) everyone you know will be lined up along the race route or b) you’re actually running the NY Marathon. Since in my case, neither are true, I’ll be hooked up to my trusty music machine, thank you very much.

Me and M, St Croix

Me and M, St Croix

One of the cool things about doing races is that it takes you to places you may or may not have visited otherwise. M is doing the marathon so it motivated me to tag along and do the half. If M didn’t have this goal, I would probably still be logging my 15-20 miles a week instead of pushing myself to go a bit a longer and a bit harder. Since I won’t know a soul at this race, (thanks Sarah 🙂 !!!) Rhianna, Passion Pit, Gwen and Florence will be keeping me company!

If you’re looking for musical inspiration & motivation, here is my playlist – gathered from an assortment of trusty run buddies. When it comes to race day, you can’t get too cheesy. If you notice later in the mix, the songs start to look like 2:00am at a club in Vegas that’s no accident. A girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do…Enjoy!!! ♥♥♥

Remembrance – Caia

Life on the Nickel – Foster the People

Shine Bright Like a Diamon – Rhianna

Take You Higher – Goodwill & Hook N Sling

Titanium – David Guetta & Sia

Locked Out of Heaven – Bruno Mars

Anything Can Happen – Ellie Goulding

Bring Me to Life – Evanescence

Shake It Out – Florence and the Machine

Lonely Boy – Black keys

Click this, Run Till You Drop playlist to listen to the whole thing!

Did any miss any must haves for race day? Do you run with or without music?

