Nothing Makes You Feel Old Like…

by Kir

“Age is a case of mind over matter. If you don’t mind, it don’t matter” ~Satchel Paige

I love this quote and agree wholeheartedly. It’s rare that I stop to think about how old I am. My friends range from their mid 20s to mid 70s and that’s exactly how I like it. However, every once in a while something comes along that makes me pause and go…”Oh yea, that’s right, I’m not exactly a Spring  chicken”. Two things in particular this week caught my attention.

One: If you were born in 1992, you are 21 and old enough to drink. WTF? Seriously? Queue spiraling thoughts of “Wow, I could have a kid who’s ‘x’ years old if I got pregnant in high school. The hairs on the back of my neck went straight up. Anyone else do this?

Harry Potter is 23! When did this happen?

Harry Potter is 23! When did this happen?

Miss Vanessa, yep, street legal. Sigh.

Miss Vanessa, yep, street legal. Sigh.

Two: My favorite websites and catalogues have been overrun with ‘Festival Fashion’. Don’t get me wrong…I love seeing live music, but my days of roughing it festival style are long over – unless someone hands me all access VIP passes and, yes, that better include decent parking! And alas, I’m long past being able to pull off Fringe + floppy suede hat + arm cuff or feather headband. As individual pieces maybe, but all together, gulp, no. Deep breaths, I think I’ll be okay…♥

Gorgeous, yes! But alas, Swell.com, this outfit ship has sailed for me...

Gorgeous, yes! But alas, Swell.com, this outfit ship has sailed for me…

Coachella Style - head over to Style Bistro

Coachella Style – head over to Style Bistro

Tired of my whining? Want to check out festival style? Style Bistro has currated a really pretty selection!

Thank you, Rosie!

Thank you, Rosie!

Okay, Rosie’s outfit I may be able to get on board with. Sheer white blouse, awesome shorts and the perfect boots. I’ll make an exception on this one as I head straight to the deluxe, complimentary bar at my VIP tent.

For those of you in the same boat feeling a bit unsure of our age appropriateness, I’ll leave you with a quote I love about age not mattering much at all from one of the most timeless, ageless beautiful women whoever was…xo

Oh Audrey, you always say the nicest (and truest) things!

Oh Audrey, you always say the nicest (and truest) things!

