Out of the Blue

by Kir

I’ve been waffling around trying to figure out what to write about for a couple of days now. As much as I’d love to just post a bunch of pretty pictures all of the time, it doesn’t do a whole lot for the old writing exercises!

Sitting out in the sun on my lunch break, I was thinking about one of my girlfriends who lives on Kauai. Lucky duck. And then I thought, no, not lucky. She’s worked for every inch of her place on the island and boy, does she deserve every ounce of tropical goodness that seeps into her pores each day. We haven’t seen each other in a while, but you know those friends who are life long and can pick up where you left it? She’s one of those. So I hopped over to Facebook and dropped her a line.

Last year, she took a huge leap of faith and opened her own yoga studio, Metamorphose in Kīlauea. We talked about it years ago. Wouldn’t it be amazing to open a yoga studio? And with lots of hard work, study, dreams and a huge leap of faith, she did it. And it’s the real deal – magic, beauty and soul. And if you get to Kauai, it’s worth a drop-in for sure.

Carol, beauty inside and out

Carol, beauty inside and out

 

My friend’s journey got me thinking of a couple of things. One, how many of us actually have the courage to take that HUGE leap of faith? How do we walk away from the known and draw up the courage to pull the trigger, go out on a limb and make our dream come true? I’m sure it’s not easy. And I imagine there were many moments where she thought, “what was I thinking?”, “how will this work?”, “where will I get the money to cover this and still eat?”. But at the end of the day, you ask anyone who pursued his/her dream if it’s worth it and my guess is the answer is “a million times, yes”. I know I’ve talked about this before – yep, definitely a recurring theme on this here blog!

Posted on the Metamorphose page today...

Posted on the Metamorphose page today…

The second thing I thought about is whether or not we take the time to truly congratulate and encourage our friends when they do brave things. It’s not easy to march to a different drummer or to make decisions that affect the course of our lives. How nice is it when you get a little word of encouragement from a friend. Or when someone sends you a card or a little text saying hi? Doesn’t it make your day so much nicer? I know it can shift my entire day. And how awesome when that hello or nod of encouragement seems to come at just the right time. It’s so easy to do and it makes such a difference! Celebrating each other is big. And it’s contagious. If someone makes me feel good, I want to return the favor and pass it along. So that’s my blog topic for the day. We are all working hard and life isn’t always that fun. But a little hello to someone can tweak your day and turn it around for the better so why not?

Now I gotta run. Going to go text a few people some hugs, kisses, sunshines and other emoticons. Have a great afternoon! xoxoxo

