Our Own Worst Critics

by Kir

We are definitely our own worst critics. And by ‘we’, I mean ‘women’. Isn’t it amazing how quick we are to deny or brush off a compliment? A couple years ago a friend called it to my attention that I literally never accepted a compliment without throwing in a ‘but’ or a flat out denial. Since then, I do try to go easier on myself. I stop and take a breath before batting down a compliment. Men don’t do this. I don’t think it would occur to M to muster up the energy to say anything, but “thanks”. Us women folk are a bit crazy like that!

If you’ve been on Facebook in the last couple of days, you’ve probably seen the Dove Real Beauty sketches. If not, click here. Oh my goodness, what a beautiful, brilliant, touching experiment. And what interesting insight you get into the world of women. Men should watch this. And we women should watch this.

Everyone has beauty in them – both inside and out. How wonderful that strangers, friends, loved ones see beauty in us that we don’t see. And how nice would it be if the next time someone throws a compliment our way, we really take it in, absorb, say thank you and believe them.

Darling!

Darling!

Have a wonderful rest of Wednesday you gorgeous thing you!♥

