Love the Skin You’re In

by Kir

Summer’s coming!!! It’s going to be in the high 70s today and I’m taking a R&R day. Soooo, I’ll be outside most of the day in the bright sunshine. Around my birthday time I usually kick off a solid skincare regime and resolve to be really good with my sunscreen. But sometimes it’s a damn if you do, damn if you don’t kind of world? Meaning, you slather on your favorite sunscreen only to find out later that it’s filled with toxins and is probably worse for you then going without? Well, I found a really great website about two years that really helps evaluate your products! Actually, M found it because he is a devout Howard Stern listener and Howard was talking about how his wife, Beth, was really careful about her skin and referenced the site. Have you seen Beth Stern? She’s gorgeous and glowing. So I figured, if it works for Beth, I better go see what this is all about.

Beautiful, glowy Beth Stern

Beautiful, glowy Beth Stern

Enter in Skin Deep by EWG.org It stands for Environmental Working Group. Skin Deep is their cosmetic database. You can search all of your beauty products from face cream to nail polish and they’ll give you a range from low, moderate and high hazard. It’s really easy to use and amazing how many products are in the database. Spoiler alert…it can also be a little sad when your favorite product rates a 9 on a scale of 1-10 and not in a good way. But such is life. You can also search the best products to substitute out the one you now have to throw away! That’s how we found out our Ocean Potion Face Potion is a 3 – hooray! Both M and I use it on our faces religiously in the summer. It breaks down the ingredients and tells you why something is good or not so good in terms you understand.

Ocean Potion Passed the Test!

Ocean Potion Passed the Test!

I love my Ocean Potion because it’s inexpensive ($5 or less), not too greasy and I don’t break out when I wear it. Unfortunately, my Neutrogena SPF 70 Face that I used to use every morning didn’t fare as well. So into the trash it went…

Bye Neutrogena, breaking up is hard to do...

Bye Neutrogena, breaking up is hard to do…

It’s not full proof and there are definitely brands missing, but overall, it’s a pretty great site to bookmark.

Newly introduced into my skincare regime is serum. Murad Active Radiance Serum to be specific. You can pick up a great value kit at Sephora here if you want to try it out and see how your skin reacts. That’s what I did. All four products are working well for me. But the sunscreen got a fail from EWG because it has Vitamin A in it. Bummer. But other than that, the serum in particular is awesome. My sun exposed skin is loving it! It scored a 4 on the 1-10 scale, phew!

Murad Active Radiance Serum

Murad Active Radiance Serum

The last two things that have really helped my skin are in liquid, drinking form! The first is good ‘ole H20. I’m not always the best at this, especially at work, but I’ve really been trying to go through a lot more water. I found something that works great for me at the office. I use my Lifefactory glass bottle, ice + a Nuun tablet and voila, flavored water that I guzzle down. I love the glass bottle. In my mind it makes everything taste better. (and look pretty!) The Nuun has 10 calories and tastes delicious. I bring it to the beach too. (maybe add a little vodka & ice? Just sayin, but not for work, only for beach!) Note: there has been some Nuun blogger backlash in the last couple of weeks, but honestly, I love it and I use it all the time b/c it’s not too sweet or loaded with a bunch of crap. And yes, the new watermelon flavor really is super tasty! But fruit punch will always be my favorite!!!

Hydration All. Day. Long.

Hydration All. Day. Long.

New beauty regime addition from Yogi Tea from my brother’s girlfriend. They were in town last weekend and she was raving about Skin Detox by Yogi Tea. I figured why not try it, it can’t hurt. I like Yogi Tea b/c they use good ingredients that I recognize. I’ve been drinking 1-2 cups a day (again at work!) and after a week, I can see it really does brighten my skin. I’m not sure if it’s coincidence, but I think the darkness under my eyes is much better. Whether I’ve had a great week of sleep or the tea is working its magic, I’m not sure. But hey, something’s working so I’ll be sticking with it!

Yogi Tea, Skin Detox, definitely working!

Yogi Tea, Skin Detox, definitely working!

At the end of the day…nothing beats a really good trucker hat for natural sunscreen. Yup, those are my brown shoulders below. I can’t help it. I’m a summer beach girl and I like spending every minute I can at, in or near the ocean. But I now own an impressive selection of trucker hats so my face won’t look like a leather bag before due time! That and my trusty Keanon polarized glasses put me in comprehensive incognito for most of the beach day! (My favorites are Leila, but I think you have to search on Overstock now).

Yep, me w/bronzed shoulders and trusty trucker!

Yep, me w/bronzed shoulders and trusty trucker!

So that’s the skincare 101 for this current season. I’ll be sure to update with any newfound loves, tips or techniques. You do the same, pretty please!

Happy Friday!!! xo

