A Little Life Mentoring…

by Kir

Having a mentor both personally and professionally is an amazing thing. You have someone you can look up to and someone who’s been down “that road” before that you can ask advice and bounce ideas off of outside of your family. I’ve been really lucky in my life to come across some pretty incredible mentors. They may be in my life for a short time or for the long haul. It doesn’t matter, seek them out if you can!

I got to spend some time with one of my life mentors earlier this week, Stacy McCarthy. Stacy was one of the first people I connected with when I moved to San Diego. When you meet her, you almost wonder if she’s too good to be true. She’s beautiful, nice, has an incredible family and works harder than just about anyone all with a smile on her face. I was still living in LA the second time we met and she actually put me up for the night in her beautiful little guest house even though I was practically a stranger.

Stacy is someone I look to when I think about setting intentions and following up with clear, decisive action to create the life you want to live. Among her many talents, Stacy teaches yoga and meditation. But she’s not intention without action. It’s not about wishing something to be so and then sitting back and hoping the universe will deliver what you want wrapped in a pretty bow.

Me & Stacy, up to something

Me & Stacy, Up to Who Knows What…

We initially collaborated on some work projects way back when. We hustled, created networking events and matched each other in work ethic and drive. At the time, I was new to town and newly single so I pretty much worked all of the time. I had a fun job so luckily it was ok, but I didn’t have a lot of balance. I learned balance spending time with Stacy. She worked hard on her marriage and raising her kids. She was busy, but fitting it all in and still taking time to travel the world with the family in tow. At the time, I was pretty independent and M was still bopping around like a single guy. But it was impactful to see her and know that you could combine work, love and family and have it be a fun, fulfilling experience. I came across this writing from Stacy the other day about her family creed and I just loved it. As M and I create our journey together, it’s something we are committed to creating together. ♥

Screen Shot 2013-04-26 at 9.57.31 AM

Stacy’s Donation Class for City of Hope – what a privilege  to attend…

Have a read:

The McCarthy Family Vision. The purpose of our family is to love and support each family member in achieving the fulfillment that comes from doing their best to fulfill their life purpose, maintaining high levels of integrity, and working to improve themselves each day.

The McCarthy Family Creed

  • Today, I give thanks for all that I am and all that I have.
  • Today, I treat everyone I see with kindness, love and respect.
  • Today, I do my very best in everything I do.
  • Today, I do my very best to increase my knowledge, skills, health and attitude.
  • Today, I create wealth and abundance for myself and all those around me.

Isn’t that pretty and powerful?  She talks about how she and the kids would recite the creed everyday on the drive to school. And that, yes, it was awkward at first, but it became a habit.

From Stacy, “While I can’t point to any specific miracles that are a result of our creed, I can tell you I have two fantastic kids. Even as teenagers, we enjoy spending time together. They are loving and respectful, they excel in academics and athletics, and they are leaders. Every day we have a choice of where we want to set our intention and our family creed helped nudge the kids in setting the right intention. Namaste”

Stacy, true beauty in & out

Stacy, true beauty in & out

I love this because you’re setting an intention, committing to it and turning it into action. And to set your kids habits from the get go…wow, what a gift.

Wrapping up, your mentors are important. They can guide and shape you. It’s important to find people who inspire you to be better, to excel, to love and to be the person you can be. In my collection of these wonderful people, Stacy has most definitely had an impact. She inspires me to hold out to do work that I love and am passionate about, to commit myself to living a life I love every day, to be really present in my relationship with M and to live a life I’ll enjoy telling stories about when I’m old. It’s not always easy, but it’s definitely worth it.♥

travel

Have an incredible weekend! xo

