Drawing Inspiration

by Kir

In my new roles with my new companies, I get to be creative every single day. This is such a gift for my overall well-being and something I worked hard to manifest. I am enjoying it immensely. With this, my blog has taken a bit of a backseat. As I move through my new routines, I’m leaving it all out on the table each day. When I started this blog, it was a place to fill the creative hole in my day. I had all of these ideas and visuals swirling around in my head with nowhere to go. And it was so cathartic to give my thoughts life through writing. And to take pictures of the beauty I’d find outside when not working in an office…

Taking pictures of flowers never gets old...

Taking pictures of flowers never gets old…

Now as I finish each work day, I write up summaries to stay organized between working on so many different projects. It’s a satisfying & effective way to wind down the day. But it has taken a toll on my personal creation. My mind is blissfully tired. Usually, I can muster up some time on Pinterest, but that’s about the extent of my efforts lately. I have intermittant guilt around not writing and neglecting my blog. But then I come back to my starting place. I started Sunshine to fulfill a void. It was a space for me to literally create my own sunshine when I was feeling depleted, worried and/or uninspired. So now that I have found a lot more freedom and inspiration, it makes sense that the content and time for writing is shifting for me.

Screen Shot 2013-06-13 at 8.00.12 AM

Hits of color on a gray June day…this was for work, lucky me!

I’ve never considered myself career-driven or overly ambitious, but as I look back over the last decade, I realize how much of a focus work has been. It’s interesting to see certain things coming up around M and I, quality time with family and friends and an overall peace of nesting in our place in the world. Working from home has given me the opportunity to go for a run in the middle of the day or to bring my laptop outside to work. When I first made the shift, we were at dinner with friends and one of them cautioned me about going on Facebook talking about how great your day is. I.e., don’t let people know how great it is to work from home. But the fact is, it’s not for everyone. It’s hard. Working from home in my case means being accessible and available to my bosses and clients. And it’s takes an incredible amount of organization and discipline. In truth, I work a lot harder.

But with it, comes the reward of flexibility. It’s also the reward of working with people you believe in. And why wouldn’t I want to express my gratitude for that gift? So, contrary to the advice I’ve been given, I may post from time to time that I took in an early morning beach run or went to a lunchtime yoga class. If it inspires one person to take a risk and do something brave to fulfill a dream, how cool is that? Or, at the very least, I’m a firm believer that you express gratitude. And with that expression, you send out to the universe that you would like more of the goodness. 🙂

This tide was made for running...

This tide was made for running…

I have a true, deep appreciation for that time and that ability to sink into my surroundings while I work. It also makes me look toward my personal life and to give that priority. I eat better now. I take time to be more in-tune with my body, to nourish it and give it what it needs. M is working away from home these days. We flip-flopped routines. He loves his work, but he isn’t around as much during the week. When he comes home, we shut down the laptops & phones (or try to) and spend quality time away from gadgets and external demands. And that’s been pretty great.

So if the blog posts aren’t as frequent, that’s why. I may be out going for a run on the beach (barefoot if the tide is right) instead of writing something. And it is summer. Even if the gloom of June is still looming…

See you soon!

See you soon!

But when I have something to express, you bet my little sunshine corner will get the love and beauty that’s floating around in my brain. Happy Thursday! ♥♥♥

