Social Media

by Kir

In our world of social media, we get a glimpse into other people’s lives. We get to check in daily with out “friends”. What they do, where they go, how they photograph and what “we think” they’re up to.

It can be fun. And it can be brutal. And it’s not always very real. I struggle with it all because in my line of work (marketing) so much of what I do is networking. Getting the word out on what I’m up to. Finding great people to represent a brand or test out something new. So I say over and over how important and necessary my Facebook account is to my business.

M isn’t on Facebook and never has been. We debate about it all of the time. He doesn’t understand why I use it and why I’m on it multiple times a day. And he certainly doesn’t understand the thrill of 20 people liking a photo I post (To be honest, I can’t explain why I get excited about this either). But talking about it today, he posed a very good question…”when you finish your Facebook session, do you feel better or worse about yourself and your day?”

I guess it depends. This morning I felt worse. But other days when I see pictures of my friends’ babies who live far away or see that someone I care about is having a wonderful time in Hawaii/Mexico/Peru, etc, I feel better and/or happy for them that all looks well.  But more often that not, if I’m truly honest, it doesn’t enrich my life or my day very often. It can be distracting, a time sucker and a throwback to those awfully tricky days of navigating popularity, inclusion/exclusion and the sensitivities of others. How many break-ups, cheatings and emotional drive-by’s has Facebook been a platform for?

I killed my Instagram account about 3 months ago for the same reason and haven’t looked back. I have an account, but it’s in lockdown. I only use it for that fabulous Lo-Fi filter that, let’s face it, makes every picture look amazing.  As a friend once wisely said, social media can hurt your soul if you let it. So I miss a photo of somebody doing something fabulous at one point or another, I’ll probably get to hear about the experience firsthand over a cocktail or via phone if it’s a friend from out of town. If not, is my life lacking b/c I missed a shot?

So for now, I’m taking a temporary leave of absence from Facebook – a two-week cleanse if you will. And I’ll see how disciplined I can be. The only posts will be automatic if I write something for the blog. And, the biggest test, to not check to see how many people ‘liked’ what I had to say.  Instead, I’ll be out at the beach, absorbing what’s important and seeking out quality interactions and experiences that enrich me. The rest of the unimportant stuff will fall by the wayside.♥

