Time to write

by Kir

It’s been a long lapse from writing. Too long. My soul started knocking, subtly coughing and nudging my hands back to the keyboard to journal out some thoughts in my head. Time to write down some things I’m truly grateful for. And time to get back on the horse.

No need to list out or catch you up. Gonna start where I am today…

What I’m grateful for:

  • I can write and I can edit. Editing is a lost art form. It amazes me how many typos I see on print materials, websites and blogs. We’re human and we make mistakes all of the time. But being able to edit is a gift. After spending two solid days editing web materials, I feel satisfied to complete a project. That being said, I’m sure there will be typos in this post
  • My staycation retreat in the East Village. Clearly, I’m not  a city girl. But being a fish out of water and plunked in the middle of downtown San Diego is a chance to live life a little differently and see things from an altered perspective
  • Incredible generousity. Friends who’ve offered up living rooms to work in and beds to crash in when M and I visit “up North” in Encinitas
  • Great counseling. Therapy is such a gift to yourself if you can swing it. Checking in with someone from time to time has been such a relief and I’m so appreciative. Little nuggets like “what if you weren’t always the go-to person or the favorite” offer a nice little food for thought. Yikes.
  • A shift in perspective. My over-developed sense of responsibility was not serving me. Still isn’t. The elevated stress that comes from trying to be all things to all people in work, home, family, friends, etc. always hits a breaking point. (See bullet above) Shifting is uncomfortable, but ultimately I’m hoping to come through practicing something new with a reduction in stress. Time will tell 🙂
  • My best. It’s what I can do, period. If it’s not good enough for someone else, then it’s just not. But I can work hard, be a good person and make the best decisions possible. After that, it’s going to be what it’s going to be. Spending time worrying about it is a useless exercise
  • Freedom. I work and live in the 99.9% of the most beautiful, free places in the world. I have an incredible team around me and have the freedom to work without the confines of a cubicle. This is such a gift and  I appreciate it every day
  • The ocean. Even if I’m not in it. Just being by it is enough for me. It’s always moving not matter what the weather, no matter who’s watching and whether it feels like it or not. Now that my access to the beach is limited it brings my awareness and appreciation for it to an elevated level
  • Family time. We’ll see family next week and again for Christmas. Even without the house full of decorations and a big old tree, who cares. Family will be in town. We’ll do fun things and what matters the most will be there
  • Exercise. Oy, been slacking big time. Weekend warrior, that’s me. Swapping runs and yoga for food and drinks. But I bought a Groupon for yoga in my new hood so I know it’s waiting for me when I get my butt back in gear
  • Solitude. Not going to lie. It can be isolating in my new place. M commutes a long way so I’m by myself a lot. Without easy access to friends it can be a bit lonely. But that’s good creative and introspective time that I previously booked up with lots of social time. So this little hiatus is a good time to architect, create and manifest again
  • The reminder to lighten up. Life is good. I need to take things way less seriously. Maybe I’ll tape a post-it on my mirror about this

So thank you blog. Thank you for being patient and waiting for me to check back in. I started you as my little sanctuary. And not as a way to get free products or write for others. It shifted a bit here and there, but ultimately I’m grateful I have you. Happy happy Saturday ♥

Screen Shot 2013-11-23 at 8.58.55 AM

Room with a view…Coronado bridge, we’ll take it

Screen Shot 2013-11-23 at 8.59.14 AM

City bangs…a little more urban?

New view…not bad

My new creative place

Screen Shot 2013-11-23 at 9.00.45 AM

Grateful for girlfriends – playing in Hawaii

Screen Shot 2013-11-23 at 9.01.42 AM

House sold. New chapter…

Screen Shot 2013-11-23 at 9.02.30 AM

Grateful for girlfriends…playing w/Beth at VGs

