Living An Inspired Life

by Kir

What does living an inspired life mean exactly? I think about this from time to time. In my line of work, I’m fortunate to come across people doing pretty cool things. I meet athletes, nutritionists, yogis, dancers, world travelers, entrepreneurs and forward thinkers.

Thanks Op, this comes in handy for motivation...

Thanks Op, this comes in handy for motivation…

I seek them out, truth be told. It amazes and intrigues me  how people pull some of this stuff off. Here are some good examples. Some I know personally, some I’ve met over the years and some I admire from a distance…

Scenario 1: Live half the year in Melbourne and half the year in Cardiff, CA. My friends Luke and Lucy Bell have been on this cycle for years. They work and train hard. They are beautiful people and have created an amazing life. It’s not easy, but they manage it gracefully. They’ve inspired M and I to use the term, “Let’s live like the Australians!”

Screen Shot 2013-12-07 at 2.24.32 PM

Lucy in her element, Kona 2014 (source)

Screen Shot 2013-12-07 at 2.23.58 PM

Luke & Lucy Bell at the Reef, Cardiff

Scenario 2: The girls who have the confidence to launch a bikini line and shine when there is so much competition. Amber is local to San Diego, but has a worldly view and a gorgeous eye for merchandising. If money were no object, I would absolutely intern with her (and her partner Pily) for free to see that glorious brain at work. Keep an eye out, Pily Q is one to watch.

Pily Q…I seriously adore you!

Pily Q…I seriously adore you!

Cruise 2014

Cruise 2014

Scenario 3: How about the guy who parlays an athletic talent into a lifestyle career, aligns with cool brands who support his philosophy,  takes courses in permaculture for fun and documents his experiences. I had the pleasure of meeting Cyrus Sutton last week. From a couple meet ups since he seems like a mellow, genuine soul – and he sends thank you notes! It’s fun to watch the adventures and travel unfold…check out the blog.

Live/Work/Travel ala Cyrus Sutton

Live/Work/Travel ala Cyrus Sutton

Scenario 4: And then there’s the artist who had the foresight to study fine arts and  business so she could negotiate in the business world when her art started blowing up. I’ve had the pleasure of watching Susan’s work and notoriety grow over the years. She and her husband, Kevin are an incredibly talented team. They make it look easy when I’m sure, by no means, is it ever.

My favorite Susan Wickstrand painting

My favorite Susan Wickstrand painting

Scenario 5: This one I just admire from a far. Goldfish Kiss. When your blog revolves around living the sun-drenched beach life in Hawaii and you get the news you’re moving to Seattle (pretty much the opposite of your bread & butter theme) it’s sink or swim time. For the last three years, I’ve happily followed Rebekah’s posts to glimpse bikinis, sun and fitness motivation. Her move has taken her blog to the next level and I find myself truly intrigued and caring about how she fares through the Seattle gloom. I know I’m not alone in rooting for her success!

Goldfish Kiss still captures the sun even in Seattle!

Goldfish Kiss still captures the sun even in Seattle!

Is it courage? Conviction? Unshakable confidence? Is there a gene shared by these folks? If so, do I have it? Because I want it. I’ve never been the kid who knew exactly what I wanted to do for a living at age 8. As I make my way closer to 40 (eeks, it’s coming), I know what my talents are and, to a certain extent, I know my skill set. But not enough clarity just yet on what I would do if I could do anything for a living.

Can this be a full-time occupation?

Can this be a full-time occupation?

On the personal front, I was clear as a bell that I would live right by the beach somewhere warm and sunny. I would have a boyfriend who surfs and we would travel a lot. Well, check, check and check. Although the last one has taken a bit of a back seat. We aren’t traveling as much as we’d like, but with a trip to the East Cape of Cabo booked for New Year’s that will kick off the year nicely.

My home, Cardiff, CA

My home, Cardiff, CA

As of today, my ultimate calling is a recurring theme in my thoughts and musings. For now, I love what I do and it puts me in touch with a lot of amazing people moving about the planet. For that I’m endlessly grateful. So until that inspiration and aha moment arrives, I’ll continue to seek it out in others and best support & celebrate their growth and success.♥

