Go ahead, blame the moon

by Kir

Anyone else have a meltdown Monday? Apparently, it was going around. Yesterday I listened to Christmas music (Dean Martin Holiday on Pandora if you must know), smiled at everyone I saw, had my car washed – it was happy-go-lucky, all-around positive day. Flash back to 1pm Monday and I ‘d just recovered from bursting into tears. (It was literally a 3-4 minute burst) General angst from 7am-1:30pm and then magically around 2pm, the fuzz evaporated, my mind cleared and on with my day I went. I bought Christmas wrapping, got into the spirit and M and I had such a fun night walking around the city with no real agenda.

Oh Dean...

#urbanchristmastree

Screen Shot 2013-12-17 at 8.23.59 PM

Dean Martin Holiday…

So what happened? I’m not exactly sure really. All I know is that I almost retracted my blissful blog post from Sunday where I talked about how stress just needs to go away. No big deal. Pffft.  At work, I ran into a girlfriend and we were laughing about my meltdown (she had one too) when this woman (a complete stranger) walked by and nodded wisely, “me and about four of my friends too” she said. Huh, something’s up. Finally, someone shed a little light, “Oh, well there is a full moon tonight”. Ooooh the three of us said in unison.

Well, hot damn, that explains it doesn’t it. Or at least makes me feel a touch better. I did a little research on this particular moon at Cafe Astrology. Here’s a little excerpt…

Full Moon Sagitarius

Full Moon Sagitarius

Early Tuesday, the Moon is full–the Gemini Moon exactly opposes the Sagittarius Sun. The Gemini-Sagittarius polarity is a mental axis, where Gemini represents the “lower mind” and Sagittarius represents the “higher mind”. A Gemini Moon encourages us to think logically, while Sagittarius persuades us to think in a far broader manner. Sagittarius symbolizes the quest for meaning and ideas that expand upon the here and now. Gemini is quite comfortable in his or her immediate environment or neighborhood, while Sagittarius stimulates us to venture beyond. Neglecting either end of the axis will surely backfire on us. Ideally, a balance should be found between the two energies, and this is what the Full Moon invites us to do. 

The Full Moon is an emotional time–a time of romance, fertilization, and relationships. With the Moon full and bright in the sky, symbolic “illumination” occurs in our own lives. However, these feelings and revelations are emotional ones, as there is a sense of emotions bursting forth into our consciousness. It’s time to express ourselves, and to let things out of our systems. Of course, we might want to exercise some care while doing so, knowing that what is coming out of us is not particularly rational as yet.

Aha! Okay then…if you had a crazy start to your week, don’t sweat it. Just blame the moon♥

