Goals Achieved? Some Pretty Proud Moments…

by Kir

With a few days left in 2013, I wanted to take a minute to reflect on some of my finest accomplishments from the year. All in all, 2013 has been a huge year of growth for me. I have accomplished a lot and see a fair amount of change. Not all of it rolled out the way I expected, but overall, looking back, I’d say it was a damn good year. Here are some of my proud little moments ♥

I'm quite proud of some of these

I’m quite proud of some of these…

Some things are huge, some fun,  some small and some mundane. Looking back, the overarching theme for me in 2013 was facing things head on. This has never been easy for me. I’d much rather glide along and not ruffle feathers or make waves. But that way of living simply wasn’t working. It took its toll on my nervous system and some of my relationships. So I started being more honest with myself on what I needed to be happy. And then I took a lot of action. Sometimes (often) it was ungraceful and clumsy, but for the most part, I felt the positive effects of being clear with my needs and speaking my mind.

I still feel stress, no question. But I try to really examine it and break it down to get to the root cause. (Hint: it’s fear!!!)  Then I go back to the basics. What can I do today? If I can’t fix something, I can watch a sunset, go for a run, ask for an extra hug from M and do little things to add to my overall well-being. I will be leaving certain things behind in 2013, but I’m determined to carry forward the good and the lessons from this year.

Here’s to 2013! xxoo

