Motivation for Monday

by Kir

I’m setting some intentions for the week. This is a bit of a follow up to Friday’s post. I found these lovely little sayings. Each one represents an intention I plan to hold in my mind for the week. This first one is a goodie…

Choosing Joy

Choosing Joy

We always have choices. It may be a choice between two things we don’t love, but the decision is ours. I’m planning little pockets of fun this week. Last week, I carved out two low-tide beach walks on my favorite stretch of beach and was able to do a meditation/hike for work. These little breaks brought me so much joy. True, blissful joy. So, if I’m at a loss or feeling sad or anxious, I know I just need to choose to make the time to head west. Even if it’s for a few minutes.

Screen Shot 2014-01-19 at 3.49.38 PM

Moving forward

Our meditation hike ended at dog beach

Dog beach…the turnaround point for our hike

Half of our meditation hike I went on Friday was in silence. It’s amazing how peaceful 30 people walking without chatting can be. For the return portion of the hike, Stacy, our guide, said we could talk, but only about things that move us forward. In other words, no negativity or complaining and no dwelling on something that happened yesterday. I like this and I’m going to attempt to stick with it this week.

Screen Shot 2014-01-19 at 3.41.31 PM

Choose quality companions

I’m surrounded by some pretty amazing quality people. I’m going to take advantage of this by choosing to hit up my favorite teacher’s yoga class, read a bit from one of my favorite authors and schedule time with folks who feed my soul.

M is definitely one those peeps. He constantly inspires me. He may not always be the biggest softie, but he is hand’s down, one of the most honest, hard working people I know. And he literally never complains. I’m going to use him as my example to not complain this week 🙂

Screen Shot 2014-01-19 at 3.39.00 PM

No flip-flopping

No waffling back and forth this week. I have set some lofty goals for myself this year. And I will hold steady to these goals by doing a little work towards achieving them each day. No excuses. And if someone plants a seed saying it won’t work, that’s okay. I’m moving forward anyway.

And on that note...

And on that note…

Seeds of doubt go hand in hand with getting my feelings hurt. Most of the time, what feels like criticism isn’t personal and really doesn’t matter. Same goes for compliments. They feel great and I’ll always appreciate and take them. But if you believe in yourself and have confidence in your abilities, then you don’t really need them. Best to just be self sufficient and self soothing to get the job done.

Finding inspiration from others

Finding inspiration from others…Sasha Pivovarova, artist and model 

And lastly, I’ll be finding inspiration in others who are out chasing their dreams. Like this lovely lady, Sasha Pivovarova.  Sasha’s artwork is amazing. She draws, paints, makes dolls, designs tepees…she is a model for Free People and clearly, is stunning. But really, I love her work. It’s beautiful and makes me want to draw and paint.

So intentions and inspirations for the week are set. So Sunday afternoon is feeling pretty good right now even if the Seahawks are down at the half. ♥

