Channeling the Tough Chic

by Kir

Most days my disposition is sunny, sweet and accommodating (or at least that’s what I think. Others may disagree). I genuinely like helping others, handing out compliments and derive satisfaction and pleasure in helping others and making them feel good. I’m not annoyingly sweet or anything, but generally my outlook is sunny.

Screen Shot 2014-02-08 at 10.13.01 AM

What I think my normal disposition looks like

But on occasion, it’s time put down the rose colored glasses and channel my inner bad ass. That alter ego who doesn’t take crap from anyone, doesn’t care what people think, walks fast, gets things done and relentlessly goes after what she wants. She doesn’t mess around with silly emotions like fear, worry and indecision. She doesn’t get insecure and wonder if she’s good enough. She is in charge, declares what she wants and goes after it with fierce focus.

Anyone who knows me probably wouldn’t use the words “relentless” and “fierce” as two of my top five personality descritptors. I’m not going to lie, this girl exhausts me and it’s hard to keep her at the forefront of my personality for any length of time. But I’m calling on her now as I have decisions to be made, financial progress to put forth and dreams to realize. When I’m tempted to make a Facebook movie (not really) or find other distractions, she makes me go to yoga (because I  get clarity there) and then reigns me in for some action.

Here is what I think she looks like. At least according to my Pinterest board…

Screen Shot 2014-02-08 at 10.17.31 AM

Me, but with some tattoos and leather.

Screen Shot 2014-02-08 at 10.18.03 AM

She goes after what she wants and is unapologetic in her pursuit. (Well done Ms. Beckham)

Screen Shot 2014-02-08 at 10.18.23 AM

Can rock some dusty boots and a cowboy hat like nobody’s business.

Screen Shot 2014-02-08 at 10.19.02 AM

Fearless. Up for adventure. Not opposed to jumping out of planes w/James.

Screen Shot 2014-02-08 at 10.19.25 AM

Can stride in stilettos.

Screen Shot 2014-02-08 at 10.20.13 AM

Knows how to stay calm & make decisions from a place of joy not fear.

Major eye contact w/smoky kohl eyes

Major eye contact w/smoky kohl eyes

This girl rocks. I appreciate that I can dig in and channel her. She helps me when I’m feeling less grounded and indecisive. Let’s face it, growth is uncomfortable. Facing things head on is uncomfortable. But it’s worth it when you have the breakthrough and make it to the other side. And you’re shit is sorted and organized. I’ve avoided my finances and haven’t been the best at declaring what I’m good at and demanding what I  want. It’s more comfortable to settle or sit back and hope to be discovered for your talents. But you can only do that for so long. And for me, it’s not working. So time to take some more direct action with a different strategy.

Kali - the original bad ass goddess. Get rid of the old baggage!

Kali – the original bad ass goddess. Get rid of that old baggage!

If I want more freelance assignments, time to send out more pitches. If my dream is to be 100% self employed, work from home, make a great living while raising a child, what am I doing each and every day to make that happen? No rest for the wicked so let’s get cracking alter ego!

So if you see me walking a little faster than usual or wearing a little more eye makeup, she might be why. Don’t worry, I’m still my nice yoga going, chakra balancing, good intentioned self. But I’m also determined and motivated and coming to some focused conclusions near you! Happy Saturday.♦ (note the diamond instead of the usual ♥)

