The Things I ‘Should’ be Doing

by Kir

You know those days where you have a list of things a mile long of what you ‘should’ be doing. And instead, you do absolutely nothing? I don’t have these days often, but this entire week I’ve felt like I could lay on the couch, drink tea and watch marathons of British period pieces – bring on Jane Austen, Downton Abbey and their friends. Add in a puppy and I’d be all set.

Screen Shot 2014-04-03 at 9.37.58 AM

Pride + Prejudice, remake 437…still fabulous

What Griffy would do

What Griffy would do

In a weird way, it’s a form of rebellion. When you live in a place that’s sunny and 72 almost year round you feel a bit of obligation to get out and enjoy the scenery for the rest of the country trapped in fluke snowstorms. (like Colorado this morning) Normally, I’m out and about cramming in coffee visits and beach walks between projects and working. The dance card is usually pretty full. This week, we are looking at buying houses and preparing for some next big steps. Both M and I are sleeping uninterrupted, black-out sleeps which tells me we both have a lot going on mentally, emotionally and physically. All positive, but the craving to rest is strong.

want to build a fort?

Want to build a fort w/me?

Best book title ever. May need to track this down...

Best book title ever? May need to track this down…

 

In our new, temporary digs, I have yet to find a pot or pan in the many boxes marked ‘Kitchen’. Nice going, Kir. If only I had looked up ‘moving tips’ on Pinterest prior to packing up our old house. I would have learned helpful things like this – buy two colors of packing tape. Use one color only for your boxes with the most necessary items packed inside – i.e., pot, pan, silverware, coffee mugs, master bedding, etc. A word of advice, check out Pinterest for moving. There is great stuff in there. Too late for me, but save yourselves!

This would've been great two know 4 months ago…source

This would’ve been great two know 4 months ago…source

We’ve been eating out a lot and this means less greens and more bar food. No big deal for M who’s training for Boston, but not so good for me. So I’ve been powering up my smoothies with super foods, greens and fresh fruit in an attempt to counteract dinner. Things will settle in soon enough, but in the meantime, the couch is calling my name. This week I have the luxury of a little extra personal time before things ramp up next week. So I’m going to enjoy the last few days of  strolling through my errands instead of rushing around per usual. It is supposed to be in the 70s this weekend so books and beach are on deck! But for now I may be hitting the snooze button a couple more times♥

