Boston Strong – Nothing short of amazing

by Kir

M is running Boston today. I just dropped him off at the buses in Boston Common. I’m so excited and full of energy – probably because it’s not me that has to slug it out for 26 miles. It’s going to be about 60 and sunny on the course and spirits are high. The people of Boston are nothing short of amazing. They are so friendly, funny and helpful. We got here on Saturday and the feeling of optimism and commraderie is everywhere.

It starts…expo bib pick up

It starts…expo bib pick up

 

M at the finish. Going to look a little different today.

M at the finish. Going to look a little different today.

On our walk to Boston Common, everyone walking by on their way to wherever smiled and wished us good luck, have a great race, enjoy yourselves. At the buses, volunteers cracked jokes and eased nerves letting people know where to go and what they could and couldn’t bring. You can’t help but get swept up in the feeling of pride and emotion of the day. No mascara for me today. I’ve already teared up twice as I type! The Bruins won 4-1 yesterday, the Sox had runners from last year out to throw out the first pitch last night (sniff sniff) and the city is glowing.

Screen Shot 2014-04-21 at 4.34.32 AM

M & I carb loading in North End Saturday night…yum!

Screen Shot 2014-04-21 at 4.35.11 AM

Huge Boston Strong banner, pesky wind. But you can see the guy below for a size reference.

We’ll be here through Wednesday so there will be more time for sight seeing later, but for now…we caught some pretty views on our Easter run yesterday as we cruised along the freedom trail over to Paul Revere park. Then kicked it in our room watching cycling on YouTube – wild and crazy over here…

The view of our hotel, the Inter-Continental

The view of our hotel, the Inter-Continental

Cycling…almost as soothing and nap inducing as golf

Cycling…almost as soothing and nap inducing as golf

Neither of us got much sleep last night. Too much running through our brains. M said he woke himself up b/c he got so excited he was finally sleeping. I kept waking up to make sure he was asleep. What a pair. But this morning came anyway and we were up in the dark watching the news live from the race start. Kudos to the news team, it looked chilly! So M got on the bus and I came back to the hotel to write this post and kill time before heading back over to the finish.

Screen Shot 2014-04-21 at 4.34.05 AM

The volunteers moonlight as comedians. These guys were hilarious offering to sell bananas to the highest bidder

Screen Shot 2014-04-21 at 4.33.36 AM

Happy bus ride sweets!

I felt like my baby was going off to school for the first time or something. Kind of silly. Pride, a little bit of nerves hoping he has a good, relatively painless race. And, of course, hoping that he and everyone else running is safe and sound.

Time to hop in the shower and get ready to spectate. I’ll be cruising over to the finish early to see if I can watch the elites come in. I’ll be looking for friends running their first, 5th and 10th marathons. I will take my job seriously and scream my head off for everyone running. Happy Patriot’s Day!!!

