Hold On Tight…

by Kir

Hold on tight. I do that a lot. Let’s face it, I probably hold on too tight most days. I was doing pretty good for a while, but this week was a bit of a doozy. Everything is fine, but let’s just say some lessons were learned. One in particular came through loud and clear. Not everyone is going to like you all of the time. Sometimes people may not like what you say or how you act or what you ask them to do. Sometimes it’s personal and sometimes it’s not. And it’s a-ok. What’s done is done. No sense agonizing on what or how you could have done things differently. 

I read a great blog entry about self sabotage by Kristen Hedges and one paragraph in particular snapped me to attention. She says it a lot better than I could so here it is…

“I think I’m lucky to be so in touch with my ego. Her and I have spent quite a few years knocking heads and bumping elbows. Until I realized that this other self (the ego; the illusion; the separation between Me & Spirit) existed, I would often let her win. I would cancel plans. End friendships. Burn bridges and frown upon the happiness of others only because for some strange reason, misery made me feel good (in a way).

After a bit of studying and a lot of Yoga, I learned that self-sabotage feeds our separation. Since happiness & joy are our true nature – the nature of Spirit – the ego creates pain to identify with. To give it a face – a personality – of sorts. When your spirit feels bad, the ego feels good.”

Screen Shot 2014-05-21 at 6.15.46 PM

Huh. Well, yes. Thank you, Kristen, that is just what I needed. It snapped me to attention and, voila, five minutes later I’m here typing out my thoughts to process things. I have so much to be grateful for – so many wonderful friends, a loving family, a brand new house, vibrant health and I live in the place of my dreams. So if I make a bad decision today or someone is “mean” to me tomorrow so be it. If I can’t convince you to see my side or agree with me, so be it. Ego, it’s okay. We have better things to do than dwell or ruminate. So, old friend, I’m sending love to you and I’ll see you later. 

Screen Shot 2014-05-21 at 6.27.01 PM

Sorry miss ego, no time to dwell, I need to enjoy this…

And this...

And this…

