Wait to Worry

by Kir

I was going along (trudging along really) my Monday. Super tired from a 6am workout, cranky because I didn’t eat enough food and feeling fairly lackluster b/c of the June Gloom. In summary, I was getting through the day, but really not doing anything in particular to make it special, light or fun. I’m leaving for Hanuman, a yoga festival in Boulder, for work and I was feeling a bit impatient and overwhelmed with all of the things that need to happen in order for my role in the festival to run smoothly.

If I were an outsider, let me count the ways that the above sentences are silly. Hmmm, you’re getting paid to go hang out at a yoga festival? What, it’s in beautiful Boulder, CO? But wait…your parents live there so you get to combine a work trip with an opportunity to see your family – arguably two of the best humans on the planet? And your role in the festival is to make sure your company’s booth looks good and everything/everyone shows up ok (alright, that is legitimately a bit of an operational undertaking so we’ll give you that one) You’re cranky b/c you actually dragged your sleepy body out of bed and made it to a really hard, incredibly toning Pilates class and even beat your super gung-ho, early riser friend, Kristin, to the studio. That’s really more reason to celebrate b/c you never do that!!!

Yes, it’s true. My attitude sucked. I admit it. Have you ever scrunched up your shoulders, balled up your fists and squeezed your eyes and mouth shut as tight as you can? I feel like sometimes that’s how I go through my day. And to see how silly it is to hold on so tight, I took a picture. I was genuinely curious.  And it wasn’t very cute, but it was even sillier than I’d imagined. And when I saw it, it actually made me smile. And then some cool stuff happened.

First, I wandered into a lovely Facebook post by Malia. Malia had a real cause for her mood and thankfully, it all turned out okay – such gratitude for Malia’s angels. Scrolling through her many comments was a picture from someone I don’t know with the phrase ‘Wait to Worry’. And poof, just like that, my perspective shifted. Something dislodged. Funny, one of my favorite phrases is, And Just Like That I love it b/c anything can change at any time. Shortly after, I wandered over the FreePeople blog (as I often do) and found this lovely post about making a gratitude jar. Still a touch grumpy, I read Miann’s thoughts around gratitude and they reignited my own.

I am grateful

I am grateful – image here

I made a quick mental list – no jar yet, but it’s on the list and came up with 10 things And Just Like That I was smiling and laughing at myself and feeling a bit warm and fuzzy instead of tired and fuzzy.

This guy makes me fresh squeezed OJ and built us an outdoor table. Swoon!

This guy makes me fresh squeezed OJ + built an outdoor table. And for once, smiled for a picture. Swoon!

Turquoise Adirondak chairs

Turquoise Adirondak chairs and freshly planted mint

Dreamy Vacations

Dreamy Vacations

What’s done is done. I prepped the best I could. I will continue to be diligent tomorrow and then I’ll let the rest fall to the universe. And I will set my alarm and board my plane and get ready to thoroughly, truly and earnestly enjoy my time in Boulder, my time at a yoga festival filled with love and energy and enjoy hugging my parents every day for a week – a true luxury i don’t get often enough. Gratitude costs nothing and it can make all the difference (paraphrased from Rhonda Byrne). Happy Monday xo

