Back to Basics: A Ritual of Radness for the Week

by Kir

Life is funny. I know what kind of lifestyle works for me when I’m at my happiest, most relaxed and inspired. It’s not rocket science. Some basic ingredients and habits executed on a daily basis typically lead to pretty amazing results. So why is it I can so quickly ditch these easy breezy things to spiral down the rabbit hole of stress, indecision, fatigue and worry? As I sit here typing this, I’m smiling and shaking my head at my silly self.

Time to stop rushing...

Last week I read a simple post by one of my lovely blog favorites, here about unplugging your morning. I did a quick mental run-down of my current weekday morning routine. Ready?

  • Alarm goes off on iPhone next to my head
  • Hit snooze 2-3 times depending on level of sleepiness
  • Turn off alarm (finally) and immediately check email (yes, while still in bed! Literally the first thing I do)
  • Answer emails and jump in shower
  • Pour cup of coffee
  • Multi-task drinking coffee and getting ready
  • Jump in car and start making calls on way to work
  • Head into meetings
  • Maybe eat breakfast (lately frozen gluten free waffles w/honey) around 10:30am if I remember

Eeeks! I get stressed just reading this nevermind actually living it. Of course I’m fatigued. No wonder I feel like I can’t take a deep breath. Literally the first welcome to my day is an onslaught of work and sale notifications for my favorite brands telling me the booties I put in my shopping cart last night are still waiting for me. When I read the simple ‘unplug your morning’ I sighed a great, deep, satisfying sigh and said okay, enough. Let’s change some things and see how it goes. I have a feeling the people I work with may be on board with this plan too.

Here’s my schedule for this week. I started yesterday, but the real test will be tomorrow morning. Ready?

  • Get up and turn off iPhone (now safely across the room on Airplane Mode)
  • While up, proceed to kitchen to make green juice (M does this religiously every am and he commutes to Tustin so I have zero excuses about time – plus I just gained 15 minutes from not hitting snooze 3 times)
  • Cook an egg. It takes all of 3 minutes. I did it this morning. Not a huge fan of breakfast first thing, but I’m going to try it for a week. I’m guessing my metabolism will thank me
  • Jump in shower
  • Get ready (I used to hang 3 outfits on hooks by bed ahead of time on Sundays so that’ll get re-instated)
  • Pour coffee in to go cup
  • Check emails right before I leave (to reduce temptation of checking phone at intersections)
  • Drive to work enjoying coffee in car (as M put it, “coffee is your dessert and reward for a good start”)
My current favorite: lemon, kiwi, banana, spinach, ginger, turmeric

My current favorite: lemon, kiwi, banana, spinach, ginger, turmeric

Avocado toast, lime + eggs…delicious. Photo: simplegreenmoms.com

Avocado toast, lime + eggs…delicious. Photo: simplegreenmoms.com

Taking more quality time in the morning to set the tone for the day can’t possibly be a bad idea.

This really works - pick some outfits for the week on Sunday…and it looks pretty!

This really works – pick some outfits on Sunday…bonus – it looks pretty!

No stress picking outfit in the am…accessories included

Annnd no stress picking my outfit in the am…accessories included

I’m better after work. Recently I started writing a little each day in a journal. Even if it’s just recording a workout. It’s an unplug from the tech world. Right now, it coincides with sunset watching which, amazingly, I can do from my back yard.

Love this journal! It makes me laugh every time I grab it...

Love this journal! It makes me laugh every time I grab it…

I have set a routine for consistent exercise so I have a plan. There are times in life when being free-spirited and flexible work great. But I know for right now, I’m not in that space. I need the structure. The muscle memory (both mental and physical) is there so it’ll come back. And when it does that will be a fun phase too. This phase has me feeling inspired and ready.

The irony of kicking off ‘un-plugging’ by writing a blog post when I have written one in six months isn’t lost on me 🙂 But I see it differently. Writing is cathartic. And I haven’t felt able to write or post anything because I haven’t felt like there was anything I wanted to say. At least not out loud. This post is my note to me more than anyone else. It’s a great little check when you put something out into the world to follow through. So there it is. A little love note to myself to take better care. And to enjoy the week ahead because I have a feeling I’m going to really like it.

A little Saturday morning magic

A little Saturday morning magic

Thanks Miss GFK for the lovely little reminder that arrived at just the right time…♥

